Kentucky Mountain Dreams

Kentucky Mountains – Defining Our Dream – County List

One of the things I have been gradually working my way through is defining the area each of these Mountain Dreams sites will cover. In general I am trying to adopt divisions of coverage within the states that already exist in some form on the different State Tourism Sites. In some states these divisions come naturally and consistently with our mountain theme, in others not so much.

The state of Kentucky has a division provided by the Southern & Eastern Kentucky Tourism Development Association that fits neatly with the county list I had arrived at from studying the Kentucky map. There were just a couple of counties they included that were not on my original list, so I’ll be happy to use their divisions and add those counties to my list.

Here is the list of counties in the divisions SEKTDA uses listed generally north to south…

    Kentucky State Flag

  • Country Music Highway
    • Boyd County
    • Floyd County
    • Greenup County
    • Johnson County
    • Lawrence County
    • Martin County
    • Pike County
  • Mountain Lakes
    • Bath County
    • Menifee County
    • Morgan County
    • Rowan County
  • Cardinal
    Cardinal - Kentucky State Bird
    Mountain Parkway Trails
    • Estill County
    • Lee county
    • Magoffin County
    • Owsley County
    • Powell County
    • Wolfe County
  • Kentucky’s Elk Country
    • Breathitt County
    • Clay County
    • Knott County
    • Leslie County
    • Letcher County
    • Perry County
  • Tulip Poplar
    Tulip Poplar - Kentucky State Tree
    Southern I-75
    • Jackson County
    • Laurel County
    • Madison County
    • Rockcastle County
    • Whitley County
  • First Frontier
    • Bell County
    • Harlan County
    • Knox County
  • Heritage Landmarks
    • Boyle County
    • Casey County
    • Garrard County
    • Jessamine County
    • Lincoln County
  • Cumberlands
    • Clinton County
    • McCreary County
    • Pulaski County
    • Russell County
    • Wayne County
  • Heartland Waterways
    • Adair County
    • Cumberland County
    • Green County
    • Metcalfe County
    • Monroe County
    • Taylor County

Join the conversation...