Kentucky Mountains – County List

  • Country Music Highway

    The Country Music Highway is the eastern-most corridor in the Highlands and Waterways Region of Southern and Eastern Kentucky…Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Country Music Highway.

    • Kentucky State Flag

      Boyd County

    • Floyd County
    • Greenup County
    • Johnson County
    • Lawrence County
    • Martin County
    • Pike County
  • Mountain Lakes

    Almost entirely surrounded by the northern portion of Daniel Boone National Forest, Cave Run Lake is the shimmering jewel of Kentucky's Mountain Lake Corridor… Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Mountain Lake.

    • Bath County
    • Menifee County
    • Morgan County
    • Rowan County
  • Mountain Parkway Trails

    Situated in the heart of Eastern Kentucky, the Mountain Parkway Trails Corridor is an outdoor-lover's delight. Featuring Red River Gorge, Natural Bridge State Park and portions of Daniel Boone National Forest this corridor is not only strikingly beautiful but also full of adventure waiting to happen…Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Mountain Parkway Trails.

    • Cardinal
      Cardinal - Kentucky State Bird

      Estill County

    • Lee county
    • Magoffin County
    • Owsley County
    • Powell County
    • Wolfe County
  • Kentucky’s Elk Country

    Kentucky's Elk Country Corridor begins outside of London just off Interstate 75 and follows the Hal Rogers Parkway northeast into the mountains of Kentucky. The Hal Rogers Parkway offers some of the most remote and unspoiled landscapes in the Highlands and Waterways region…Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Kentucky’s Elk Country.

    • Breathitt County
    • Clay County
    • Knott County
    • Leslie County
    • Letcher County
    • Perry County
  • Southern I-75

    The Interstate 75 South Corridor extends from the Tennessee border at Williamsburg north to include Rockcastle County, home of the Renfro Valley Entertainment Center. The city of Williamsburg is the southern most point along the corridor and home to Cumberland College, which offers a fine craft shop at the college-operated hotel and restaurant…Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Southern I-75.

    • Tulip Poplar
      Tulip Poplar - Kentucky State Tree
      Jackson County
    • Laurel County
    • Madison County
    • Rockcastle County
    • Whitley County
  • First Frontier

    The First Frontier Corridor stretches along Kentucky's borders with Virginia and Tennessee through Harlan, Bell and Knox Counties. It celebrates the migration of hundreds of thousands of pioneers through Cumberland Gap and into the 'dark and bloody lands' of Kentucky…Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – First Frontier.

    • Bell County
    • Harlan County
    • Knox County
  • Heritage Landmarks

    The Heritage Landmarks Corridor is comprised of the counties of Casey, Lincoln, Garrard and Jessamine. This area is rich in heritage and history and the breathtaking terrain is spotted with rolling farmlands… Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Heritage Landmarks.

    • Boyle County
    • Casey County
    • Garrard County
    • Jessamine County
    • Lincoln County
  • Cumberlands

    The Cumberlands Corridor stretches north to south, from just below Lexington to the Tennessee border. Perhaps it's most well known attraction is the Big South Fork National River and Recreational Area. This area is located in both Kentucky and Tennessee and features some of the wildest and most dramatic scenery in the region… Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Cumberlands.

    • Clinton County
    • McCreary County
    • Pulaski County
    • Russell County
    • Wayne County
  • Heartland Waterways

    The Heartland Waterways Corridor lies in the western area of the Kentucky Highland and Waterways Region. The most well known attractions are an exceptional system of lakes including: Green River Lake, Lake Cumberland, and Dale Hollow Lake… Tour Southern and Eastern Kentucky – Heartland Waterways.

    • Adair County
    • Cumberland County
    • Green County
    • Metcalfe County
    • Monroe County
    • Taylor County

County list and categories are adapted from the SEKTDA.

Join the conversation...